A dealer sponsored diesel technician program pairs a college or tech school with an equipment or truck dealer. You study the manufacturer's machines in class, work at the dealership between terms and often graduate into a job there. At their best, these programs pay you during internships, cover some or all of your school costs and give you factory training that would otherwise take years to collect.
The catch is that "sponsored" means different things at different schools and dealers. This guide compares the best-known programs using what the participating schools and dealers publish, and shows you what to ask before committing two years of your life.
How a dealer sponsored diesel technician program works
Most programs follow the same pattern:
- You apply to the school and to the manufacturer program inside it.
- You find a sponsoring dealer. This usually means an interview. At some schools you must find the sponsor yourself; at others the school or a single partner dealer handles it.
- You alternate classroom and lab terms with paid work at the dealership.
- You graduate with an associate degree or certificate plus manufacturer credentials, usually into a job at the sponsoring dealer.
What varies is who pays for what and what you owe afterward. That is where you need to read carefully. For a broader look at school versus apprenticeship versus learning on the job, see our post on choosing a diesel training route.
Caterpillar ThinkBIG
ThinkBIG is Caterpillar's dealer technician education program, run through Cat dealers and partner colleges. Two examples show how much the terms vary by dealer.
At Thompson Tractor, the two-year program runs with South Georgia Technical College. Students alternate eight-week blocks of class and lab with eight-week paid internships at the dealer and earn a heavy equipment dealer service technician associate degree. Thompson covers tuition, books, lab fees and graduation fees; students pay room and board, deposits and their own transportation. Requirements include a diploma or equivalent, age 18 or older, drug, physical and background screening, a valid license with a good record and minimum placement test scores.
At Lake Area Tech in South Dakota, Butler Machinery is the sponsor. The two-year path earns an associate degree in diesel technology with a Caterpillar endorsement. The school lists an estimated program cost of $30,698 for 2026, including $9,250 for tools, and says accepted students receive a scholarship and paid internship package starting at $35,000, with internship wages starting at $20.50 an hour across four paid internships. Students in good standing go to work full-time at a Butler dealership for at least three years after graduation.
Same program name, two different deals. Always ask your specific dealer for its terms.
John Deere TECH
John Deere runs dealer-sponsored programs for agricultural and construction and forestry equipment at community colleges around the country. Equipment World reported the construction and forestry version had reached eight community colleges, with dealers sponsoring students through two-year programs that end in an associate degree in diesel technology or the equivalent.
Program details from participating schools:
- SUNY Cobleskill offers John Deere TECH as a two-year associate degree concentration. Students must be sponsored by an authorized Deere ag or construction and forestry dealer for a paid internship of at least 400 hours. Students pay tuition, fees, books and tools, though the school notes that sponsoring dealers may help with some costs.
- Owens Community College in Ohio runs a five-semester associate degree that alternates eight weeks in class with eight weeks of paid internship, with hourly wages that rise with performance. A dealer sponsor is required, and the college can help with placement.
- North Dakota State College of Science runs a construction and forestry version that takes about 18 months over four semesters. Its program packet says applicants must find and interview with a participating dealer sponsor and must supply their own tools.
The pattern with Deere is that the internship is paid, but school costs often stay with you unless your dealer offers help. Ask early, because some dealers do.
Truck OEM programs: Peterbilt, Daimler and Mack
On the on-highway side, programs tend to be shorter add-ons after a core diesel program rather than two-year dealer partnerships.
- Peterbilt Technician Institute (PTI) is a 12-week program at UTI's Dallas/Fort Worth and Lisle, Illinois campuses. It covers PACCAR software and tools, electrical diagnostics, HVAC, chassis, air brakes and ABS, and MX-13 engine diagnostics including aftertreatment, and awards nine Peterbilt certifications. Eligibility is strict: a completed qualifying diesel program, a 3.5 GPA or better, 97 percent attendance, no more than two moving violations in three years and no DUIs. Peterbilt pays for the training for qualified grads who go to work at a participating dealer.
- Daimler Truck North America Finish First is a 12-week program at UTI's Avondale, Lisle and Orlando campuses covering Freightliner and Western Star trucks, with Total Truck Care Professional and Detroit heavy-duty systems certifications. UTI says Daimler dealers may offer graduates tuition and tool reimbursement as hiring incentives, but it does not say the program itself is paid for.
- Mack announced its Diesel Advanced Technology Education program in 2018: 500 hours at partner schools, with graduates earning an associate degree and preparing for Mack dealer work, according to Volvo Group. Confirm current availability with the schools before you plan around it.
If you are aiming at truck dealers, also read our breakdown of Cummins, Caterpillar and Detroit manufacturer certifications.
Side-by-side comparison
| Program | Length | Credential | Who pays school costs | Paid work? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cat ThinkBIG (Thompson Tractor / SGTC) | 2 years | Associate degree | Dealer covers tuition, books, fees | Yes, 8-week internships |
| Cat ThinkBIG (Butler / Lake Area Tech) | 2 years | AAS plus Cat endorsement | Scholarship package from $35,000 against $30,698 est. cost | Yes, from $20.50/hr |
| John Deere TECH (SUNY Cobleskill) | 2 years | AAS concentration | Student; dealer may help | Yes, 400+ hour internship |
| John Deere TECH (Owens CC) | 5 semesters | AAS | Student; scholarships available | Yes, 8-week rotations |
| Peterbilt PTI (UTI) | 12 weeks after core program | 9 Peterbilt certifications | Peterbilt pays if you join a participating dealer | Not stated |
| Daimler Finish First (UTI) | 12 weeks after core program | TTC Professional, DD heavy-duty | Not stated; dealers may reimburse | Not stated |
Questions to ask before you sign
A sponsorship is a contract in practice, even when it is not called one. Get these answers in writing:
- Exactly which costs does the dealer cover: tuition, books, fees, tools, housing?
- What is the internship pay rate, and does it rise each rotation?
- How long am I expected to work for the dealer after graduation?
- If I leave early, do I owe anything back, and how is it calculated?
- Which branch will I work at, and can I be moved?
- Who buys the tool list, and do I keep the tools if I leave?
- What happens if I fail a course or miss attendance targets?
Tool costs are real. Lake Area Tech's ThinkBIG estimate puts tools at $9,250 of a $30,698 total. If your sponsor does not cover tools, plan for that cost from day one. Our guide to first-year tool debt covers how to avoid getting buried.
Who these programs fit
Dealer programs work best if you already know which kind of machine you want to work on and you are willing to commit to one dealer for a few years. They are strongest when you want structure, paid hours from the start and a guaranteed first job.
They fit less well if you are not sure whether you want trucks, ag or construction, if you need the freedom to move after graduation or if the local dealer's terms leave you carrying most of the cost. In that case, a general diesel program followed by an OEM add-on like PTI or Finish First may keep more doors open.
It also helps to run the numbers both ways. Add up tuition, fees, tools and living costs for a sponsored program, then subtract what the dealer covers and what you will earn in internships. Do the same for a general program at your local community college plus a part-time shop job. Sometimes the sponsored route wins by a wide margin. Sometimes the difference is smaller than the marketing suggests, and the post-graduation commitment tips the balance.
Finally, visit the dealership before you commit. Walk the shop, meet the service manager and, if you can, talk with current technicians about how students are treated during rotations. You will spend years there, so the shop culture matters as much as the tuition deal.
Bottom line
A dealer sponsored diesel technician program can be the best deal in the trade, or just a normal college program with an internship attached. The brand name tells you little; the sponsor's written terms tell you everything. The strongest offers in this comparison, Thompson Tractor's ThinkBIG and Peterbilt's PTI for dealer hires, cover training costs outright. Compare the full cost, the pay and the commitment before you choose.